Wednesday, May 30, 2007

Press Release: ACLU Honors Lt. Cmdr. Charles Swift and Prof. Neal Katyal

MSNBC Anchor Keith Olbermann and Humorist Roy Blount, Jr. to Headline Sold-Out Bill of Rights Dinner

BOSTON - During its annual Bill of Rights Dinner at Boston's Park Plaza Hotel on Thursday, May 31, the ACLU of Massachusetts Foundation will honor Lt. Cmdr. Charles Swift and Georgetown Law Professor Neal Katyal. Swift and Katyal sued the U.S. government in Hamdan v. Rumsfeld, the case in which the U.S. Supreme Court held that the military commissions set up by the Bush administration to try detainees at Guantanamo Bay violate both the Uniform Code of Military Justice and the four Geneva Conventions.

Keith Olbermann, MSNBC anchor and host of "Countdown With Keith Olbermann," will speak at the event. Olbermann is known for his sharp critiques of the war in Iraq and was dubbed "The Most Honest Man in News" by Rolling Stone magazine in February.

Humorist Roy Blount Jr. will speak as well. Blount is a panelist on NPR's popular "Wait Wait... Don't Tell Me" program and is author of nineteen books, most recently Feet on the Street: Rambles Around New Orleans.

ACLUM's annual Bill of Rights Dinner, which takes place this year at Boston's Park Plaza Hotel beginning at 6:00 pm, is sold-out, but spaces on a waiting list are available. Call 617.482.3170 extension 335, or email for wait-list details.

ACLU of Massachusetts board members Arnie Reisman and Jodie Silverman serve as co-chairs for the event. The dinner's host committee includes Anne & Ramon Alonso, Ron Ansin & Jim Stork, Elyse Cherry, Christian Draz, Thomas Dwyer, Jr., Richard Ferrante & Tobie Weiner, Frank Fisher & Ellen Paradise Fisher, Celia & Walter Gilbert, Robert A. Glassman, Holly Gunner & Anne Chalmers, Paul & Patricia Hogan, Ambassador Swanee Hunt & Charles Ansbacher, Jeffrey F. Jones, Wendy Kaminer & Woody Kaplan, Carol Master & Sherry Mayrent, Alex MacDonald & Maureen Strafford, Paul and Ann B. Sagan, Norma & Ben Shapiro, Drs. John & Holly Thomas, and Kate & Phil Villers.

For more details about the honorees, speakers, and the event, see:

No comments: